Ze(k)nith

wpid-IMG_2586.JPG
Standard

I would not have made it through so many things in my life without knitting to calm myself. This last month I think I’ve particulary taken advantage of the healing powers of looping bits of thread through other bits of thread. Taking a moment to knit a row amidst the manic shoppers pre-Christmas made the whole process easier. Tinkering away during tense family interactions helped organise my thoughts and kept frustration at bay.
Oh, knitting. You rock.

I won’t dwell on the negativity that surrounded this year’s Christmas season, though there was much. Instead, here are the best bits!

These tea infusers – Mr. Tea and Mana-tea!

image

This fabulous hexipuff-holder from my Gran, made by her clever quilter friend…

image

She also sculpted the clay beads!

image

This perfect gardening tool tray, made by my ever-gorgeous Pa.
So sweet, and holds plenty of seed trays!

image

The moment when I found the cat doing this:

image

Our dorky table setting, complete with fairylight-ified Van Gogh print!

image

A bizarre Skype session with relatives…
(Note my dog’s paw sneaking its way into the frame.)

image

And then the brilliance of knitting at this beautiful place:

image

image

image

Today, my mum and I offered to deliver a Christmas gift (a garden gnome taking a bath) for someone, which entailed a drive into the mountains. Since we’d made the journey we decided to spend the day there. We had lunch in the bush and then a glorious swim (my first in months). Great respite from the madness of the last weeks.

But in all honesty, what I need now is ginger beer and video games. My brain is tired.

Hope you all had great Christmases and are relaxing and recuperating well. x

One thought on “Ze(k)nith

  1. Angela Hickman

    Oh my goodness your cat!

    The holidays always seem to bring any family stress to the surface. I certainly know I knit more tightly and more quickly during the holidays – sometimes I think everyone should knit! (Though that many needles in one room might be dangerous…)

    Happy Holidays to you! I’m jealous of your swim.

Leave a Reply

