A visual feast to tide you over

Standard

Here are some things I’ve been working on over the last few weeks…

This is soon to be a handbag! I’m just in the process of joining all the squares together so that I can add handles. Each square is roughly 12x12cm and there are two by two squares on each side of the bag making it about 24x24cm in size all up. I used an extra small hook to crochet this to avoid the possibility of any important things escaping the bag during use. Perhaps I will have to line it, but vigorous testing so far has shown that not even 5c pieces are able to escape the clutches of this bag. However, pens might be another problem… I’ll investigate this further once it has assumed a more baggish shape…

This is the beginnings of a scarf using one of my favourite crocheted square patterns from an old Mon Tricot stitch guide that was given to me by my grandmother. There are some pretty interesting fibres in this project. Aside from lambs wool, the burgundy and navy squares contain cashmere and silk, while the grey variegated squares contain soybean silk fibre! It’s really interesting to work with the soybean wool. It not only variegates, but goes thick and thin, thick and thin, thick and even thinner… But the results are gorgeous, so I’ll definitely be using it again. The finished scarf will consist of 16 squares and measure about 10cm x 2m.

Coasters! Yay! Here are two sets of four coasters made from 100% US grown cotton. The ’70s was a good decade for crocheted homewares, so I wanted to provide 107 with something reminiscent of that era but with a more updated colour scheme. So here are the coasters at work, protecting wooden surfaces in a stylish fashion:

Plans are to make another few sets, but I have yet to decide on colour schemes and shapes for these.

Again, returning to the fabulous and inspirational decade of the ’70s, I’m nearing the end of a rather mammoth crochet project; a hexagon blanket. (The pattern I’ve used is ‘Juggling Hexes’ by Wendy Harbaugh.)

This time the ’70s inspiration manifests in the colours which tread a fine line between gaudy and tasteful. The blanket is pure Australian wool and is lovely and warm. It’s got to the stage where I can work on it and use it at the same time which is incredibly satisfying. I’ve been crocheting the inside circles for 9 hexes at a time and then joining them as I crochet the outside row.

Sadly, this one’s not for 107. I’m far too attached to it. But never fear, for I’ve just begun another blanket that will be available in the coming months!

I’m using Fibranatura’s 100% organic cotton to make a lovely, soft and sustainable blanket. At the moment, the blanket is just a pile of un-joined circles, but in the end the plan is to border them with a cream coloured edging and turn them into squares. Every square is going to have a completely different colour combination to every other square in the blanket.

Don’t the cottons look gorgeous all together in their perfect little balls?! Guh! I hate to spoil them, but I have faith that the blanket will look equally, if not just as gorgeous in the end… fingers crossed! What I find really adorable is that Fibranatura gives each of its colours a woman’s name. The six colours I’m using are affectionately known as Sally, Gena, Susan, Lorna, Janene and Monica. Oh, and Cream. So Cream’s not a woman’s name, but still, it’s cute. Way cute.

Anyway, I’ll just cap this post off by showing you one last little tidbit for 107…

This miniature knitting brooch measures about 3x5cm and will be available in several delightful colours. Show your love of crafting by donning one of these on your lapel!

Anyway, so on and so forth, and so long. I hope you enjoyed this taster of some of the creations for morganhausen.

14 thoughts on “A visual feast to tide you over

  1. Bless your heart for doing so many projects that require joining squares together. I gave those up long ago as after making all the squares I never wanted to sit down and piece the thing together! Good for you:)

    Love your use of color on these projects. That hexagon blanket is beautiful – I see why you’re keeping it for yourself! I just started a blanket yesterday that I thought, “Oh, this might be a hard one to give up!”

    • Hey, thanks Rebecca! I’ve been joining the hexes as I go which makes it a lot easier than doing it all at the end!
      And I know that feeling too well! I can’t afford to want to keep too many things if I’m going to display and sell them, but that blanket is an exception :)

  2. Pingback: morganhausen

Leave a Reply

