Completed cardigan and incomplete everything else…

Standard

I finished the chevron cardigan! It’s taken me a while to actually upload the photos, but here it is in all its glory paired up with the dress it’s going to de-funeralise. It’s virtually unblocked here, as I have to take it on a long car journey before I have to wear it so I figure I’ll iron out all the wrinkles and uneveness when I get there.

After finishing it I had a little ‘well, what next?’ moment, which was totally uncalled for considering what I found in my project bag…

This is the basque, or beginnings of a basque, to a vest from the new Patons Classics book. There are so many great designs in the book, particularly a cabled aran-style cardigan that has a lovely silhouette… No! I mustn’t tempt myself!!

My grandmother has been teaching me how to dye yarns and this was my first effort. It was a bit of a crazy experiment but I’m really happy with the results. We used white Bluebell 5ply crepe and powder dyes. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of how it looks in the skein, but here is what it looks like in the ball…

With all that to do I surely don’t need another project, but that’s not the haphazard, prolific way I go about things!

So here’s a cabled scarf I’m making using Schoppel Wolle’s Cashmere Queen. It’s a cashmere, silk and merino blend. When I first felt it in the ball I thought it was nothing special, and certainly not worth the price, but when I felt a knitted sample I just knew I had to make something with it! The friction of knitting it causes it to fluff up and become incredibly downy and soft. This will probably be the most expensive scarf I’ll ever make, but it’s so worth it.

I have an 8 hour car journey tomorrow so I’m planning to finish it on the way as my destination it’s going to be brutally cold and windy! During the 8 hour return journey I’m hoping to finish the border of the ’70s hexagon blanket. I’m sure it’ll have the bonus of keeping me cosy on the way.

I’ve also started working on the Woodley-inspired granny square jumper, but I can’t for the life of me decide how I should join them. Here is an experiment where I’ve joined them as I’ve gone. It leaves a bit of a ridge which could be a design feature, but I’m afraid it’s just a tad too ridge-y for that. I may just whip stitch the whole thing together if I come to a conclusion that it is too ridge-y, although that will use up a lot more wool (and time!) I think some more experimenting; I need to find a way that joins as you go, lies flatter and uses up less yarn than whip stitching.

And that’s all not to mention the still in-progress blankets and a newly begun Kaffe Fassett-inspired fair-isle scarf for 107. Phew! I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me. Lucky I have this car journey tomorrow to get some done…

I wish I could resolve to not start anything new until I finish all of these projects, but I know I’ll just break the promise to myself and feel bad, and so I’ll buy wool to make me feel better and that will cause me to start a new project only fulfilling the cycle. So yeah, we’ll see how the car journey goes…

7 thoughts on “Completed cardigan and incomplete everything else…

  1. The cardigan is lovely. it is sure to be what catches peoples eyes rather than the frock. A comment about the joining squares together. I don’t think you are doing them the way I have been. It looks like your way uses a lot more yarn. When I join two squares (or hexagons) together. I simply use a slip stitch between each of the groups of three trebles( US dcs) into the gap and when I get to the corner, one also into the adjoining corner from the corner. If I slip stitch I do it instead of the chain of the corner or gap. If you do this, if you are patient enough, you can tuck the top of the trebles on the second square against those in the first and you can hardly tell which one was done first. Lucy on Attic24 has instructions on joining squares that way with pictures here: http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/joining-asyougo-sqaures.html

    • Oh yes! I know this method and it’s great! I used it for my heaxgon blanket. I didn’t mention in my post that I’ve tried that method. Even though it lays beautifully flat, it leaves those gaps between all the sl sts. For a jumper I worried about the gaps being too big and noticable. Do you think that would matter?
      Also, thank you for your lovely comment about the cardigan!

      • You’ve already got small holes between the groups of trebles. I have joined squares like that experimentally and if they are not under any tension there is no hole visible. If they are being stretched the holes are no worse than those between the groups of trebles. Why not try joining about four squares together in a square and judge for yourself? It looks like it will be a lovely cardigan. I planning what I call a flower cloth that in part uses a similar pattern.

Leave a Reply

