Blogger Awards: Installment #1

Standard

It occurred to me that I don’t follow nearly enough blogs. I mean, I follow a few. But when I was nominated for the Liebster and the Versatile Blogger Awards recently, I realised that I couldn’t possibly drum up the required list of blogs I wanted to nominate.
So I figured I could take the easy route and nominate the list for both awards at the same time. But the problem arose when I realised that I only follow a handful of blogs that I could nominate that have fewer than 200 followers (a requirement for the Liebster Award).

So began trawling the internet for blogs that caught my eye and went on a following spree. This was great because I’ve been really quite sick for the last week and haven’t been able to do very much at all. I’ve hardly even had the energy to knit or crochet, shock horror! So it was nice to go around and find some new and inspiring crafty people.

I’m going to split this into two posts. The first will be about the Liebster Award. The second one will be about the Versatile Award which will give me a bit more time to find 15 blogs and decide on the seven fun facts I want to disclose which might take me a little while to compose.

Dara from Coffee & Lilacs nominated me for the Liebster Blogger Award.
She’s rad. She’s reconstructed an old, well-loved Babar toy using the miraculous art of crochet. (That’s close to my heart; my eyes still well up with tears whenever I hear the Babar tv show theme.) She’s made the loveliest collection of crafty Easter goodies. And she leaves the nicest comments. Aaaagh! If only I could renominate her, but I suppose this little spiel is as close as I can get to that.

She explained in her post that I needed to post the award badge and some flowers. So, here’s the badge.

Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of flowers that are my own (except for some ridiculous ones of myself in a head-wreath at a Mexican Day of the Dead/Frida Kahlo themed party). Just imagine the flowers. Some really lovely, pretty scented flowers. Your favourite kind. Better than any other bouquet you’ve ever set eyes upon. Yes. That’s it.

My 3 lovely nominees are…

Emma from Gingerknitters! What a beautiful blog, my dear crafty friends. Selected highlights include these knitted mochimochi cascarones for Easter, those knitted herringbone fingerless gloves, and the envy I felt when reading this. Go, go, go! Read this blog.

‘Craftlyn’ from Craftaceous Period! She’s genuinely doing a granny a day. And these are some of the most visually delicious grannys I’ve ever visually feasted upon. Now I want to do a granny a day, but I’m fairly sure I don’t have the patience. Also because I get so easily distracted and have so many projects going on. I really, really admire her focus. Oh, and  her wit. She makes very honest and often very funny comments with each of her granny posts. Excuse me, friends. I’m gushing and I shall move on now.

Crochetlatte! So many gorgeous, delectable free patterns! So many gorgeous, delectable photos! So much gorgeousness and delectability all ’round. The blog’s subtitle states that the patterns are ‘quality’. I can verify this remark. (If you’re interested, Crochetlatte, I don’t mind doing some kind of endorsement.)

I’m not sure how many followers each of these blogs has and whether that makes them ineligible, but who cares! They all deserve a heap of praise and I hope you’ll take the time to check them out.

7 thoughts on “Blogger Awards: Installment #1

  1. daraweyna

    You’re the sweetest!! Thanks for turning me on to these other awesome blogs!! Can’t wait to peruse through them soon. Hope you’re doing well over there on the other side of the world. Dara

Leave a Reply

