(Temporary) Abdication Statement

Standard

Dear reader,

I just want to profusely apologise for not doing a Fractious Fair Isle Friday post this week – not even on Saturday as is often the case when I forget. I’m giving the blog a rest for a little while. (I’m aware I’ll unwittingly make this post seem like an abdication speech or something hugely more important than the little explanation of my whereabouts it’s supposed to be. Watch out for that.)

Life gets in the way. I’m afraid that not only do I have less time to take photos and write, but I’m finding myself with less and less time to actually make things worth showing you. I’ll still be crafting. I’m sure that by now many of you have made note of my obsessive and prolific qualities and know that nothing could truly get in the way of that. And this may culminate in the rarest of posts.
But for now, I must say a temporary farewell to the world of craft blogging. I know, with absolute certainty, that when I return I will have numerous things to show you, but for now I just can’t commit to sharing them with such regularity.

I’ll admit, another part of this excuse is that I’m going to be participating in the Ravellenic games, which will require full devotion to an entirely new project that isn’t my Fair Isle sweater. I’m going with this cardigan by Amy Christoffers. (Finally some stash busting will take place when I put to use that rust-red Country 8ply!) That said, I’m skeptical about even finishing such a task with such limited time despite all that obsessive drive on my side. Feel free to stalk my progress on Ravelry.
In fact, if you have Ravelry, let me know. I’d love to have a sticky-beak at everyone’s projects, queues and favourites.

You know, I thought it would be cruel if I didn’t keep you sated with a few photos of my hexipuffs so far. So, here you go! I’ve made a few more since taking these, but the light has gone now.

You have all been really welcoming, encouraging, inspiring, and just generally wonderful. I’ve loved rifling through your blogs, and having you do the same to mine. Numerous thanks to you for commenting on, liking, and even just reading the self-indulgent ravings that plaster the pages of my blog.

Stay wonderful. Keep making stuff. May your stash prosper.
So on and so forth and farewell.
For now.

Darcy x

5 thoughts on “(Temporary) Abdication Statement

  1. I’ll miss reading your posts but I quite understand. I can see the dangers of letting blogging take over too much of one’s life and time myself. Have fun with the Ravellenic games and I will be glad to read anything you do find time to post.

  2. Aw, and just when I found your blog! But, I totally understand. I friended you on Ravelry so your projects will show up in my friends tab. Mad knitting skillz! Good luck and happy crafting!

  3. Looking forward to having you back some time or another. Good luck with all of your new projects. I understand your decision to take some time off as I’m trying to clear up some stuff myself. I think somewhere in the chaos of The Boudoir even lies buried an unused Ravelry account. See you!

  4. daraweyna

    Darcy, I understand your dilemma completely. Stay the crafting course, the blog can always be worked on, but you can’t have a blog without work to show…it’s a double-edged sword. Wish you lots of luck and look forward to hearing/seeing you now and then. Best, Dara

Leave a Reply

