I’m back!

Standard

Well, that was quite a break! There’s so much crafting to catch you up on. The fractious fair-isle jumper is complete. The hexipuff quilt is taking shape. I’ve made mittens, socks, hats, scarves and blankets. So, there’s probably going to be quite a bit of show and tell over the next few posts.

Here’s where the quilt is at:

I tried laying out the puffs with all the colours mottled together…

Matching puffs and feet!

Which looked gorgeous! But I found it hard to disperse colours evenly.

So I tried putting them into little clusters of like colours like this…

Hexiflowers

And this…

Hexiflowers 2

It makes them easier to put together and means I can join them as I go. This way I don’t have to wait until the very last puff to see how much I have of each colour and disperse them evenly throughout the quilt
It’s safe to say the quilt is going well. Slowly though, as I only just broke the 200 puff mark earlier this week. (Summer here is brutal and not ideal for hexipuffing!)
Here’s the Ravelry page for it all.

And just for a wee bit more eye-candy, here are some of the yarns…

Green yarns for quilt

Next time I can catch you up on my winter knits from last year. I made a bunch of things for my chilly travels to Europe which I’m pretty proud of :’) I also bought some lovely Shetland wool from the undeniably lovely Kathy’s Knits in Edinburgh and used it to make a traditional fair-isle tam on the teensiest needles imaginable.

Yes.
Next time.
You must hold me to that promise so I don’t neglect this blog for so long again!

Much appreciation to those of you who used to follow this blog, and I hope I continue to post things that interest you again.

timmy and puffs

Over and out.

8 thoughts on “I’m back!

    • Thanks!

      Because it’s two layers of knitting I only stuffed the puffs a little bit to make it less weighty. Some people have made awesome hexiflats where they haven’t stuffed the quilt at all: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/200762095858733234/

      To make it floppier I only sewed the puffs together at the corners rather than all the way along the edges. Probably air it every so often rather than washing it. Also, if you attach the puffs using lots of shorter lengths of yarn rather than longer ones you can remove damaged puffs without having to undo too much of the quilt.

      Cloves and bay leaves are awesome for keeping moths away when you store knitted stuff over summer too.
      They’re my small wisdoms :) Good luck when you start your blanket!

  1. Angela Hickman

    This quilt is looking fantastic! I love the idea of joining them as you go. What a great way to both disperse the colours and spread out the finishing. I can’t wait to see it all put together!

Leave a Reply

